Walmart is a mass retailer of groceries, general merchandise and health products, sold through 10,955 stores and clubs in 19 countries and through its websites and apps. Three segments carry it: Walmart U.S. (4,611 stores, 68.4% of net sales), Walmart International (5,743 units in 18 countries) and Sam’s Club U.S. (601 membership clubs). About 2.1 million associates work there, 1.6 million of them in the United States. John Furner became President and CEO in February 2026 and signed the filing, succeeding Doug McMillon; the three segment CEOs and the Controller are also new in their roles.
The business in one page
Follow one sale. Walmart sets the shelf price itself under its everyday-low-prices policy and records the ticket, net of sales taxes and expected returns, as net sales. Of each dollar, 75.79 cents goes to cost of sales — the merchandise and the cost of moving it — and 20.94 cents to operating expenses, leaving 4.22 cents of operating income. To make that sale Walmart must own or lease the store, the distribution centres and the inventory: property and equipment alone is US$136,083 million, 47.8% of total assets. On top sits a second, smaller stream: membership fees, rent, recycling and gift-card breakage, equal to 22.6% of operating income, whose cost to deliver the filing does not state.
The year added sales almost entirely through digital orders. Net sales rose 4.73% to US$706,413 million, and eCommerce supplied 92.5% of the growth — at Walmart U.S. it reached about US$99.6 billion, up 25.6%, while sales not attributed to eCommerce were flat within the company’s rounding. The gross profit rate rose for the second year, from 23.73% to 24.21%, so price leadership did not cost margin in the years presented, and membership fee revenue grew to US$4.4 billion, up 15.8%.
But operating income grew only 1.63%. The cause is named and narrow: about US$0.9 billion of higher self-insured claims in the U.S., a US$0.7 billion charge to modify share-based compensation at PhonePe, and depreciation up US$1,230 million on the investment programme. Removing the three, operating expenses grew 3.74% — slower than sales. Below operating income, a US$2,869 million swing in the fair value of equity investments carries most of the 12.64% rise in net income: pre-tax income before those marks rose 1.07%. And the capital added in the year earned 0.39%, or 9.17% with the two named charges added back, against 35.1% the year before.
Figures for 3 fiscal years, taken from the Key Metrics tables of each annual report. When a later filing restates a figure, we use the figure reported for that year's own filing.
Key metrics
| Metric | FY2024 | FY2025 | FY2026 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $648.1B | $681.0B | $713.2B |
| Gross margin | 23.7% | 24.1% | 24.2% |
| Operating margin | 4.2% | 4.4% | 4.2% |
| Net margin (GAAP) | 2.4% | 2.9% | 3.1% |
| Operating cash flow | $35.7B | $36.4B | $41.6B |
| Capex | $20.6B | $23.8B | $26.6B |
| Free cash flow | $15.1B | $12.7B | $14.9B |
| Dividends + buybacks | $8.92B | $11.2B | $15.6B |
| Net cash | -$30.6B | -$30.0B | -$34.0B |
| Total debt | $40.5B | $39.1B | $44.8B |
| Shareholders’ equity | $83.9B | $91.0B | $99.6B |
| Effective tax rate | 25.5% | 23.4% | 24.4% |
| Our construction: operating income after tax on average invested capital (company ROI 15.1%) | – | 15.5% | 14.5% |
How Walmart makes money
Competitive advantage
The evidence is in the price and in the fees: the gross profit rate rose from 23.73% to 24.21% over two years while comparable sales stayed positive in both U.S. segments, so price leadership did not require a falling margin in the years presented.
Membership fee revenue grew from US$3.1 billion to US$4.4 billion over the same two years, attributed to Walmart+ and to Sam’s Club Plus penetration.
No single customer is material, and the company says less than one third of what it sells in the U.S. is imported.
The rest is the company’s own claim — that scale lets suppliers sell significant quantities in exchange for lower prices. With no research spending, member counts, renewal rates or eCommerce profitability disclosed, whether the advantage is widening or narrowing cannot be established.
Pricing power
It shows as margin held while prices lead, not as prices raised: the gross profit rate rose 7.6 basis points in fiscal 2026 on inventory discipline and higher-margin businesses, against a mix shift toward lower-margin categories.
The company does not say which categories carry the lower margins, nor what tariffs cost in the year.
At Walmart International the gross profit rate fell 49 basis points, attributed to channel and format mix shifts and to investment in price and delivery.
Transparency of growth
Growth was organic except for VIZIO, acquired in December 2024 and so present for a full year rather than part of one; its revenue contribution is not disclosed, so organic growth cannot be isolated.
Currency cost International US$2.8 billion: net sales grew 7.00% as reported and 9.30% before the effect.
eCommerce is a channel measure, not a store count: the company classifies as eCommerce every sale initiated digitally, including orders fulfilled from stores, and certain advertising, fulfilment and data services.
Scalability
Mixed this year. Revenues grew 4.73% and cost of sales 4.62%, so the merchandise margin scaled.
Operating expenses grew 5.76% and depreciation 9.48%, so the cost of serving customers did not.
Share-based compensation grew 30.12%, or 4.84% without the PhonePe charge.
Removing the three named cost items — about US$2.8 billion of an US$8,059 million increase — leaves operating expenses up 3.74%, slower than net sales. That is arithmetic, not a normalisation: self-insurance recurs and depreciation has risen every year presented.
Catalysts identified in the filing
- Construction entering service
US$18,728 million of construction in progress earns nothing yet. New stores and clubs took only US$1,406 million of US$23,445 million spent in the U.S.; the rest went to supply chain, technology and remodels.
- The deferred tax reversing
Deferred income taxes added US$2,277 million to operating cash flow after subtracting US$635 million a year earlier. The next cash flow statement will show when bonus depreciation stops helping.
- China and international eCommerce
China added US$4,648 million of net sales, up 23.27%, and eCommerce reached 27.45% of International net sales. The filing gives no operating income by country.
- Membership
Membership fee revenue grew 15.8%, with double-digit growth from Walmart+ and higher Plus penetration at Sam’s Club. Member counts and renewal rates are not disclosed.
- Litigation dates
An opioid retrial and the third phase of the Asda equal-pay case fall in fiscal 2027, both without accrual or stated range.
Financial analysis
Click any line to chart it.
| Income statement · $ millions | FY2024 | FY2025 | FY2026 | Where in the filing |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Net sales | 642,637 | 674,538 | 706,413 | IS |
| Membership and other income | 5,488 | 6,447 | 6,750 | IS |
| Total revenues | 648,125 | 680,985 | 713,163 | IS |
| % change year on year | – | 5.1% | 4.7% | computed |
| Cost of sales | 490,142 | 511,753 | 535,395 | IS |
| Gross profit (net sales − cost of sales, company definition) | 152,495 | 162,785 | 171,018 | MD&A, Results of Operations |
| % gross margin (on net sales, company definition) | 23.7% | 24.1% | 24.2% | computed |
| Operating, selling, general and administrative expenses | 130,971 | 139,884 | 147,943 | IS |
| Operating income | 27,012 | 29,348 | 29,825 | IS |
| % operating margin (on net sales) | 4.2% | 4.4% | 4.2% | computed |
| Interest: debt | 2,259 | 2,249 | 2,318 | IS |
| Interest: finance lease | 424 | 479 | 481 | IS |
| Interest income | (546) | (483) | (368) | IS |
| Interest, net | 2,137 | 2,245 | 2,431 | IS |
| Other (gains) and losses | 3,027 | 794 | (2,075) | IS |
| Income before income taxes | 21,848 | 26,309 | 29,469 | IS |
| Provision for income taxes | 5,578 | 6,152 | 7,199 | IS |
| Consolidated net income | 16,270 | 20,157 | 22,270 | IS |
| Net income attributable to noncontrolling interest | (759) | (721) | (377) | IS |
| Net income attributable to Walmart | 15,511 | 19,436 | 21,893 | IS |
| % net margin (on net sales) | 2.4% | 2.9% | 3.1% | computed |
| Basic EPS (US$) | 2 | 2 | 3 | IS |
| Diluted EPS (US$) | 2 | 2 | 3 | IS |
| Weighted-average shares, basic (mn) | 8,077 | 8,041 | 7,983 | IS, Note 2 |
| Weighted-average shares, diluted (mn) | 8,108 | 8,081 | 8,022 | IS, Note 2 |
| Dividends declared per share (US$) | 1 | 1 | 1 | IS |
| Other comprehensive income (loss), net | 944 | (2,859) | 1,009 | Statement of comprehensive income |
| Balance sheet · $ millions | FY2024 | FY2025 | FY2026 | Where in the filing |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cash and cash equivalents | 9,867 | 9,037 | 10,727 | |
| Receivables, net | 8,796 | 9,975 | 11,172 | |
| Inventories | 54,892 | 56,435 | 58,851 | |
| Prepaid expenses and other | 3,322 | 4,011 | 4,124 | |
| Total current assets | 76,877 | 79,458 | 84,874 | |
| Property and equipment, net | 110,810 | 119,993 | 136,083 | |
| Operating lease right-of-use assets | 13,673 | 13,599 | 14,750 | |
| Finance lease right-of-use assets, net | 5,855 | 6,112 | 6,123 | |
| Goodwill | 28,113 | 28,792 | 28,735 | |
| Other long-term assets | 17,071 | 12,869 | 14,103 | |
| Total assets | 252,399 | 260,823 | 284,668 | |
| Short-term borrowings | 878 | 3,068 | 6,596 | |
| Accounts payable | 56,812 | 58,666 | 63,061 | |
| Accrued liabilities | 28,759 | 29,345 | 31,187 | |
| Accrued income taxes | 307 | 608 | 596 | |
| Long-term debt due within one year | 3,447 | 2,598 | 3,542 | |
| Operating lease obligations due within one year | 1,487 | 1,499 | 1,631 | |
| Finance lease obligations due within one year | 725 | 800 | 856 | |
| Total current liabilities | 92,415 | 96,584 | 107,469 | |
| Long-term debt | 36,132 | 33,401 | 34,624 | |
| Long-term operating lease obligations | 12,943 | 12,825 | 13,941 | |
| Long-term finance lease obligations | 5,709 | 5,923 | 5,905 | |
| Deferred income taxes and other | 14,629 | 14,398 | 16,549 | |
| Redeemable noncontrolling interest | 222 | 271 | 293 | |
| Common stock | 805 | 802 | 797 | |
| Capital in excess of par value | 4,544 | 5,503 | 6,816 | |
| Retained earnings | 89,814 | 98,313 | 104,774 | |
| Accumulated other comprehensive loss | (11,302) | (13,605) | (12,770) | |
| Total Walmart shareholders' equity | 83,861 | 91,013 | 99,617 | |
| Nonredeemable noncontrolling interest | 6,488 | 6,408 | 6,270 | |
| Total shareholders' equity | 90,349 | 97,421 | 105,887 | |
| Common shares at year end (mn) | 8,054 | 8,024 | 7,969 |
| Cash flow statement · $ millions | FY2024 | FY2025 | FY2026 | Where in the filing |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Consolidated net income | 16,270 | 20,157 | 22,270 | |
| Depreciation and amortization | 11,853 | 12,973 | 14,203 | |
| Investment (gains) and losses, net | 3,193 | 878 | (2,016) | |
| Deferred income taxes | (175) | (635) | 2,277 | |
| Other operating activities | 2,642 | 2,889 | 4,079 | |
| Receivables, net | (797) | (1,106) | (1,136) | |
| Inventories | 2,017 | (2,755) | (1,443) | |
| Accounts payable | 2,515 | 3,228 | 1,611 | |
| Accrued liabilities | (1,324) | 379 | 1,607 | |
| Accrued income taxes | (468) | 435 | 113 | |
| Net cash provided by operating activities | 35,726 | 36,443 | 41,565 | |
| Payments for property and equipment | (20,606) | (23,783) | (26,642) | |
| Proceeds from disposal of property and equipment | 250 | 432 | 106 | |
| Proceeds from disposal of certain strategic investments | – | 4,080 | 927 | |
| Payments for business acquisitions, net of cash acquired | (9) | (1,896) | (53) | |
| Other investing activities | (922) | (212) | (688) | |
| Net cash used in investing activities | (21,287) | (21,379) | (26,350) | |
| Net change in short-term borrowings | 512 | 2,212 | 3,523 | |
| Proceeds from issuance of long-term debt | 4,967 | – | 3,983 | |
| Repayments of long-term debt | (4,217) | (3,468) | (2,625) | |
| Dividends paid | (6,140) | (6,688) | (7,507) | |
| Purchase of Company stock | (2,779) | (4,494) | (8,088) | |
| Dividends paid to noncontrolling interest | (763) | (576) | (439) | |
| Purchase of noncontrolling interest | (3,462) | – | – | |
| Sale of subsidiary stock | 716 | 362 | 111 | |
| Other financing activities | (2,248) | (2,170) | (2,511) | |
| Net cash used in financing activities | (13,414) | (14,822) | (13,553) | |
| Effect of exchange rates | 69 | (641) | 123 | |
| Net change in cash, cash equivalents and restricted cash | 1,094 | (399) | 1,785 | |
| Cash, equivalents and restricted cash at end of year | 9,935 | 9,536 | 11,321 | |
| Income taxes paid | 5,879 | 5,884 | 5,364 | |
| Interest paid | 2,519 | 2,739 | 2,793 |
| Per share · $ per diluted share | FY2024 | FY2025 | FY2026 | Where in the filing |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | 79.94 | 84.27 | 88.90 | computed |
| Net income | 1.91 | 2.41 | 2.73 | computed |
| Free cash flow | 1.86 | 1.57 | 1.86 | computed |
| Shareholders' equity | 10.34 | 11.26 | 12.42 | computed |
Computed on the weighted average diluted share count the filing reports (8,022 million in FY2026, 8,081 in FY2025, 8,108 in FY2024), checked against the diluted earnings per share printed in the filing (US$2.73, US$2.41, US$1.91). Revenue is total revenues. Free cash flow is operating cash flow less payments for property and equipment. Equity is Walmart shareholders’ equity, excluding noncontrolling interests.
| Ratios · percent | FY2024 | FY2025 | FY2026 | Where in the filing |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Returns and margins | ||||
| Revenue growth | – | 5.1% | 4.7% | computed |
| Gross margin | 23.7% | 24.1% | 24.2% | from the statements |
| Operating margin | 4.2% | 4.4% | 4.2% | from the statements |
| Net margin | 2.4% | 2.9% | 3.1% | from the statements |
| Our construction: operating income after tax on average invested capital (company ROI 15.1%) | – | 15.5% | 14.5% | our construction |
| Effective tax rate | 25.5% | 23.4% | 24.4% | from the statements |
| Cash | ||||
| Operating cash flow / revenue | 5.5% | 5.4% | 5.8% | computed |
| Capital expenditure / revenue | 3.2% | 3.5% | 3.7% | computed |
| Free cash flow / revenue | 2.3% | 1.9% | 2.1% | computed |
| Dividends and buybacks / free cash flow | 59.0% | 88.3% | 104.5% | computed |
| Balance sheet | ||||
| Total debt / equity | 48.2% | 42.9% | 44.9% | computed |
| Net cash / equity | -36.5% | -33.0% | -34.2% | computed |
Every ratio is computed from the figures in the statements on the left; none is a target or a benchmark.
The three statements as the Form 10-K presents them. The margin rates are computed on net sales, not on total revenues, because that is the company’s own definition: gross profit is net sales less cost of sales, and membership and other income sits outside it. Note that part of the cost of moving goods to stores and customers is reported in operating expenses rather than in cost of sales, which the company states, so the gross margin is not comparable with other retailers’. Amounts in US$ million.
Operating measures
| Measure | FY2026 | FY2025 | Change / detail | Where in the filing |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Walmart U.S.: net sales | $482,975M | $462,415M | +4.45%; 68.4% of the total | Note 11 |
| Walmart U.S.: operating income per dollar of net sales | 5.209% | 5.165% | our arithmetic; operating income +5.34% against sales +4.45% | Note 11 |
| Walmart International: net sales | $130,423M | $121,885M | +7.00%, or +9.30% before a $2.8bn currency effect | Note 11 |
| Walmart International: operating income per dollar | 3.913% | 4.513% | 4.449% excluding the $700M PhonePe charge | Note 11 |
| eCommerce net sales (group) | about $150.4bn | not comparable | supplied 92.5% of the year's net sales growth | MD&A |
| Walmart U.S. eCommerce net sales | about $99.6bn | about $79.3bn | +25.60%; contributed about 4.3 points of 4.3% comparable growth | MD&A |
| Membership fee revenue | about $4.4bn | about $3.8bn | +15.8%; no member counts or renewal rates published | MD&A; Note 1 |
| Membership and other income | $6,750M | $6,447M | +4.70%; 22.6% of operating income | IS |
| Sam's Club U.S.: net sales | $93,015M | $90,238M | +3.08%, or +5.0% excluding fuel; fuel sales fell 10.73% | Note 11; MD&A |
| Stores and clubs | 10,955 | not comparable | 19 countries; Walmart U.S. 4,611 against 4,605 | Item 2 |
| Capital expenditure / depreciation | 1.876× | 1.833× | Walmart U.S. alone at 2.15× | CF; Note 11 |
| Construction in progress | $18,728M | not comparable | earns nothing yet; no in-service dates given | Note 5 |
| Return on investment (company measure) | 15.1% | 15.5% | company definition, different from ours | MD&A |
| Self-insurance accrual | $5,525M | not comparable | claims cost about $0.9bn more in the year | Note 10 |
| Associates | about 2.1 million | about 2.1 million | 1.6 million in the United States | Item 1 |
Documents behind these figures: Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended January 31, 2026 — FY2024-FY2026 · Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended January 31, 2025 — comparison of stated expectations · 2026 Proxy Statement — ownership, governance, compensation
Key risks
The main weaknesses and risks identified in the latest annual report, in the order the report presents them.
- No operating leverage in the year
Operating income grew 1.63% against net sales up 4.73%, against a stated objective of operating income growing faster than sales. Operating expenses grew 5.76% and depreciation 9.48%.
- The capital added earned 0.39%
Invested capital grew US$13,779 million and after-tax operating income US$54 million. With the two named charges added back the figure is 9.17%, against 35.1% the year before and a return of 14.48% on the whole base. At Walmart U.S. the extra operating income of US$1,276 million came on US$15,621 million of extra assets, about 8.2% before tax.
- The cash flow is above the run rate
Operating cash flow rose 14.05% while operating income rose 1.63%; a deferred-tax swing of US$2,912 million explains more than the whole rise in free cash flow. Owner earnings were US$10,844 million against free cash flow of US$14,923 million.
- Distribution above free cash flow, financed with debt
Dividends and repurchases took 104.50% of free cash flow in fiscal 2026, with US$4,881 million of net borrowing in the same year. Over three years distributions were 83.59% of free cash flow.
- Most of the earnings growth was a mark, not operations
A US$2,869 million swing in the fair value of equity investments carries most of the 12.64% rise in net income; pre-tax income excluding those gains and losses rose 1.07%. The portfolio is worth US$5,675 million and a 10% move in the underlying share prices changes it by about US$0.4 billion.
Open questions the filing does not answer
- What do eCommerce, advertising and marketplace earn? The filing gives no profitability for any of them, so the first decisive question cannot be answered beyond the segment total.
- When does the US$18,728 million of construction in progress enter service? No dates are given, so whether the 0.39% incremental return is delay or quality cannot be settled.
- How much of the tax deferral reverses in fiscal 2027? Without it the repeatability of this year’s cash flow cannot be judged.
- What did tariffs cost in fiscal 2026? The amount is not given, so part of the margin movement stays unexplained.
- Why did the Corporate and support loss grow US$439 million? The filing does not explain it; corporate depreciation rose from US$1,458 million to US$1,727 million.
- How did the securities class actions and the FTC money-transfer suit in the fiscal 2025 note end? The fiscal 2026 filing does not say.
At US$119.14 the market capitalises Walmart at US$949.8 billion and a buyer pays 43.6 times earnings. The operating income behind those earnings grew 1.63%, and pre-tax income before investment marks grew 1.07%. Tangible equity is US$66,582 million, so book value is no support for the price.
The consolidated margin did not move as the company says it should. But the miss is traceable: Walmart U.S., which carries the claims and most of the depreciation, still grew operating income 5.34% against net sales at 4.45%. The gap sits in International — where the PhonePe charge of US$700 million more than explains the whole decline in segment operating income — and in Corporate and support, whose loss grew US$439 million with no explanation in the filing.
The capital programme has not yet shown a return, and the document cannot say whether it will: a large part is construction in progress, US$18,728 million, and nothing says when it enters service. Meanwhile fiscal 2026 cash flow sits above the run rate — a deferred-tax swing of US$2,912 million explains more than the whole rise in free cash flow, and owner earnings of US$10,844 million are a fairer base than free cash flow of US$14,923 million. Dividends and repurchases took 104.50% of free cash flow, financed with US$4,881 million of net borrowing. Walmart is a sound business in the middle of a heavy investment cycle, whose results this year show the cost of the cycle more than its return — and at this price that return is already part of what the buyer pays for.
Strengths
- Price leadership has not cost margin
The gross profit rate rose from 23.73% to 24.13% to 24.21% while comparable sales stayed positive in both U.S. segments. At Walmart U.S. the rate rose 22 basis points to 27.458%, which the company attributes to inventory discipline and higher-margin businesses.
- Digital supplied nearly all the growth
eCommerce reached about US$150.4 billion of net sales and supplied 92.5% of the year’s growth; at Walmart U.S. it grew 25.60% to about US$99.6 billion and contributed approximately 4.3 points of the segment’s 4.3% comparable sales growth.
- A growing fee stream alongside the merchandise
Membership fee revenue rose 15.8% to US$4.4 billion, from US$3.1 billion two years earlier. Membership and other income equals 22.6% of operating income — and at Sam’s Club U.S. its US$2,525 million exceeds the segment’s entire operating income of US$2,442 million.
- A balance sheet that carries the programme
Net financial debt of 0.86 times EBITDA on the cash the company describes as freely transferable, interest at 9.38% of operating income, and long-term ratings of AA and Aa2.
- Capital returned, not just recycled
The share count fell 55 million net and repurchases were 2.24 times share-based compensation, so the buyback returned capital rather than offsetting dilution.
Last year’s watch-list, checked against this filing
| What we flagged | What happened | Result |
|---|---|---|
| Operating income growing faster than net sales (stated objective) | Operating income grew 1.63% against net sales up 4.73%. Removing the three named cost items, operating expenses grew 3.74%, slower than sales. | MISSED on the reported figures |
| Capital expenditure of 3-3.5% of net sales | US$26,642 million, 3.77% of net sales, and 1.88 times depreciation. | ABOVE the stated range |
| VIZIO acquisition (December 2024) | Present for the full fiscal 2026 year; the revenue contribution is not disclosed, so organic growth cannot be isolated. | NOT VERIFIABLE - not disclosed |
| Securities class actions and the FTC money-transfer suit named in the fiscal 2025 note | The fiscal 2026 filing does not say how they ended. | NOT VERIFIABLE - no longer reported |
| Opioid retrial and the third phase of the Asda equal-pay case | Both fall in fiscal 2027, without accrual or stated range. | TO BE CHECKED NEXT YEAR |
What to watch in the next filing
- Walmart U.S. operating expense rate, 22.792% today, against its gross profit rate of 27.458%. Their movement answers whether the margin moves as the company says it should.
- Return on investment as the company reports it, 15.1% today after 15.5%. Its direction with capital expenditure at US$25-27 billion answers whether the programme earns.
- Construction in progress, US$18,728 million today. Whether it falls as projects enter service shows how much of the 0.39% incremental return is delay rather than quality.
- Deferred income taxes in the cash flow statement, plus US$2,277 million today after minus US$635 million. Its sign and size show how much of fiscal 2026 cash flow repeats.
- The self-insurance accrual, US$5,525 million today. Its growth against net sales shows whether claims costs keep absorbing the operating leverage.
Research on Walmart Inc.
Everything we have published on this company, newest first.